21 grams

How many lives do we live? How many times do we die? They say we all live is 21 grams at the exact moment of our death. Yes everyone! How much fits in 21 grams? How much is lost? When do we lose 21 grams? How much is gained? How much? 21 grams, weight of a chocolate bar, a humming bird, may be 50 paise coin! How much does 21 grams weigh?

Nope it’s not another story about barbarism, killings, rapes and other human acts of devilry. I will not write such things because I haven’t seen them. Only things that will travel from my mind through my hands to paper are facts. Yes my friend only facts. And for me fact is what I have experienced, not even stuff seen on television. I don’t intend to blame anyone neither hindus nor muslims. Well for me, even labeling people as formerly used is throbbing.

The day after train was burned down in Godhra

It was morning time and I was the only one awake and was very happy for school had been cancelled that day due to “BHARAT BANDH”.I was watching news about what had happened in Godhra. Infact the whole day was a picnic for me as after a very long time my whole family spent a day together. Day gave off to night. Mom was cooking food in the kitchen and rest of us were watching news at a very high volume. Suddenly my mom came rushing to the room with her voice collapsing, “Reduce the volume. I think someone is shouting in the vicinity. Instantly someone (out of my brother, father and me) reduced volume and I heard first cries, hauls of my life. Clattering of the vessels mingled with these cries giving rise to some cannibalistic ritual music. This clattering was a signal to gather slayers or a signal to start attack. Dad ordered us to shut off the lights and then he went out to check if the doors were properly closed. Soon after that he called the police and told them,” Sir, some people are attacking our society so please can you send “.To which the man on the receiving end interrupted, “We cannot do anything until next 72 hrs. Riots have broken out in the whole city and we don’t have enough force.” “But” and policeman had already hung up the phone. We all were standing shell shocked in the darkness after listening to conversation. My dad told my mom to take me to the underground cellar we had in our house and not to come out of it under any circumstances, even if they entered the house and killed him, while he and my brother will stay above to guard the house. “How can they do this to us?”,stuttered my mom while we were in the cell. Even after seven years I don’t know what the answer to that question is. The only thing I know is that how it feels to suffocate nearly to death for almost 10 hours in the non-ventilated hot cellar and trembling with fear, listening to cries of my neighbours and hauls of the devils-misanthropists, expecting the doom of my father, brother, mother at any moment and utilizing every instant to gain enough strength to avoid dying with fear and to face death at any second. We were spared for the moment but didn’t they kill a part of us? Is life of the other beings really so cheap to us?

One thought on “21 grams

  1. I dont know what to say adnan… Its shocking to say the least…

    I have said it before too…
    though what happened was totally reprehensible, what’s shocking is our society’s utter lack of remorse for the ghastly incidents and their aftermath…

Leave a Reply

